*

Posted: July 15, 2010 in everything else

‘every time someone i care about says sorry to me, i know that’s not the last time they’re going to hurt me.

i was having a conversation with one of the streetleaders who i’ve been enjoying building a relationship with him all this last year, and he was telling me about how he was scared of relationships and of giving away his heart because of how much he’s been hurt- by his dad, girls… it was a really good conversation, sad, but truthful.

it’s been a really good week, we’ve had a week of crazy art classes, a 2.14am call from armenia to talk about hair, some really good conversations about life and love, and some chilled film watching of an evening. it’s a good summer so far, i’m excited to continue getting to know some of these people, continue to be challenged by them, share life with them for this time…

heather, jesus and i are watching the bucket list and i was struck by this line: you measure yourself by the people who measure themselves against you.

i’m also learning a huge amount from reading how (not) to speak of God. its just so full of… insight. truths. challenges.

and winnie just gave me a pair of basketball shorts… YES!

Comments
  1. Mum says:

    can we swap some books in Sept – I’d like to read the Peter Rollins – and I’ve just finished Scot McKnight’s The Blue Parakeet (Rethinking the way we read the Bible) and also Dean Nelson’s “God Hides in Plain Sight” – a lovely gentle (but still challenging) read
    I have a pile of books waiting to be read but always would give priority to a personal recommendation :)
    Sounds like you’ve settled into a (crazy) rhythm and that’s good. Having some good times here too – conversations and study times, teaching opportunities and of course camp is rolling up pretty fast – I plan to print out updates from you and other former team members and put them in a little prayer focus corner. Will separately forward an email I got from Grant about his time in Malawi – amazing! And of course, Megs in Thailand, Rosie in Cambodia, Carrie in Tanzania, Fi in India etc etc all so encouraging
    Love you baby girl xx

    • suz says:

      if only the peter rollins was mine to give away… you should be able to find it in the UK pretty easy- he’s from Belfast… i couldn’t get into the Blue Parakeet when i tried to read it before.. but i’d give it a second chance.. yup, its pretty crazy, but i’m fully enjoying it… i got your email about Grant, thats pretty cool… :) I’m praying for y’all at LM5c, it’ll be a blast, as always! love you too…

      • Mum says:

        Yeah I have his The Orthodox Heretic although I don’t think I finished it so will do that instead. I also looked up IKON his church in Belfast and read the Ship of Fools Mystery Worshipper report on it – quite interesting. But I see he is settled in CT.
        And I can identify about Scot McKnight cos I read half then put it aside for several weeks – but got back into it and enjoyed the second half – didn’t agree with everything he says…
        Looking forward to camp but also looking forward to a couple of weeks’ holiday in August when I can make inroads into the piles of books waiting to be read mmm mmm…(pref with black coffee and chocolate accompanying – fair trade, of course)

  2. Lizzie says:

    My dear suzi,

    I miss the days of seeing you several times, back scratches, and trips to the Royal Tavern. Can’t wait to hang out with you during the year – I’m sure I’ll ask more than once to stay at the brick house and you are more than welcome to crash at my place in Philly (once I find one) :)

    P.S. I’d love to hear more of your insight about the book . . . you said some sweet stuff last week at panera.

    Love, Liz

    • suz says:

      ah, lizzie..
      i miss those days too! it sucks knowing you live right across the street, but seeing youi so infrequently… I am SO excited for hanging out through this next year, you are welcome on our couch any time, and i will definitely be taking you up on staying at yours some time… :)
      once i finish this book, i will give you the full benefit of what i’ve been reading… it’s pretty awesome! :)
      love you.

Leave a Reply

